street food Imly style at IMLY

As a child we were allowed street food only once in a while due to hygienic reasons, and my cravings for tangy spicy chaat always made me wish for a hygienic street food corners with all the authentic flavors of street food. And ever since I  heard about Imly,I really wanted to try it out but due to some or other reasons it got delayed and more delayed.

 

But as they say it’s better to be late than never. I finally managed to fix up a  lunch date to get imlified.It was a perfect day to indulge in the street food and my excitement didn’t let me  concentrate on my work, hence landed in Imly much before my scheduled time, to be warmly greeted by Imly team. Imly is an attempt to cater to all street food lovers and offers choicest street chaats from all over India and  specializes in fusion chaats.

 

 

I was immediately impressed by the exterior view of the space – a restaurant which was 250ft long maroon and cream coloured train with an engine –wow! The interiors too was a prototype of luxury train, with different compartments- installed with comfy sofa to brightly colored chairs. Bright colorful cutlery and innovative ways of presentation, an open kitchen and a juice bar right in the middle made me impatient for my gastronomical journey.

 

let’s talk about food

The first thing served on my table was Golguppa Imly style, with tamrind water, pudina water and mashed potato. Next was Dahi puchka inspired by Kolkata street food,–the crisp round paper thin puris stuffed with mashed potato, tamrind sauce, beaten curd and garnished with nylon bhujiya and chaat masala was divine.It was not only it’s sweet and tangy flavours but an absolutely amazing presentation on ferris wheel, amused me, and made me crave for another one – it was outstanding and irresistible!

 

 

Next on the table was Chinese bhel-  a traditional bhel with a Chinese tadka – a crispy and crunchy bhel with  sweet and tanginess of the tomato sauce, one bite and I was addicted to it. this innovative bhel was followed by equally innovative Idly imly style-again prepared in Chinese chilly paneer/potato style-triangular bite sized fried idly with Schezwan sauce, was flavoursome and very well prepared.it satisfies your urge for a Chinese dish. Next was Palak chaat again the combination of flat crisp puri with curd, tamarind  sauce and masala tasted very good.

 

Meanwhile I had also gulped down kokum and pineapple favoured Banta shikanji which transported me to my childhood and was refreshing.

 

Now it was time for kalmi vada with, to die for authentic Rajasthani garlic sauce, it was followed by another interesting fusion ,yes! this time it was Jini dosa-where the traditions masala stuffing was  replaced by  capsicum, tomatoes and Schezwan sauce, ,cheese and onions.Guess a dosa with an Italian twist served with Sambhar, and four types of delicious Chutneys-coconut, tomato, mint, ginger, it’s a must have for all cheese lovers as well as dosa lover. By now I was more than full, but cud not resist chola bhatura,  which was the only dish I had in its original avtar and was very good with fresh chilly pickle.

 

 

Desert time

The first desert I had was Jelebi rabri-the rabri by Rajasthani Chef had the right texture and complimented well the thin and crispy jelebies- absolutely magical!

Ialso had a Rasmalai Tiramisu. The Rasmalai Tiramisu was the star of the meal – the coffee flavour and a melange of mascarpone cheese and crème filled up my taste buds with the- right amount of sweetness and great taste and flavors.

 

IMG_0089

 

Imly has already become a favorite hot-spot amongst the students from the nearby colleges. But this is not just a student’s joint, it has something for all the age groups and all taste buds. I am surely going to find myself here every now and then and satisfy my urge for street food- what about you?

 

 

Cost for two: 500/- approx.
Where :F-20, Hog Market, Rajendra Place, New Delhi, Delhi 110008
Phone:011 2571 3000
Leave a Reply

