Trend- A trendsetter

Ansal Plaza was the first Mall of the Delhi. I remember how we friends loved to hang around at this Mall buzzing with life. But over the years it lost its sheen and shine.  Hey!Hang on guys here is a good news –Ansal plaza have already geared up for a makeover and  steadily gaining back its’ lost glamour with many new entrant in the complex and the latest is the multi cuisine casual restaurant TREND.

 

 

This swanky place is huge with indoor and outdoor sittings. Furnishing is chic and up market .I quite like the  design of Chandeliers also the open salad kitchen and awesome DJ adds its own character.

 

The USP of this place is absolutely amazing plating, almost  a work of art  of fusion of classic recipes, yet no compromise on taste.

 

 

Let’s talk about food:

 

As soon as I settled on my table I was served with a complimentary starter-Goat cheese Tart was nice crunchy sweet and sour. This tart  with goat cheese and  caramelized grapes topping was absolutely interesting and delicious and I knew I am in for a real treat to eye and my taste buds.

 

 

Drinks I called for were Tiramisu shake and Falooda. Since I didn’t like the Tiramisu Shake on attendee’s Suggestion I tried Indore Lassi. Falooda Specially was very nice.

 

As I was ready for the starters on my table was served the street food inspired Puffed Aloo Chaat-it was a tangy and spicy combo of airy potato with the topping of tandoori fruits –this dish absolutely satisfies the Indian street food cravings. Next was Glazed Tofu and Glass Noodle salad – very innovative in terms of presentation texture and flavors yet maintaining the crunch of a salad.

 

 

As I was relishing the salad there comes the new avatar of our regular Idili-Kanjeevarm idli,Sambhar Madras Gun powder. What amused me was the thought of sambhar as mousse and believe me guys I could not have imagined  in my wildest dream to be Idilies be presented this exotic, and the Taste -just wow( it was so good that I am still thinking of it and soon may go back for some more)

 

IMG_0152

 

So now time to try Some Italian flavors and I ordered Pizza Basillaca   which was rectangle in shape (interesting)and with generous topping of green and Yellow Squash, basil pesto, oven dried tomatoes, goat cheese and toasted Pine nuts. My  fav again.

IMG_0164

 

 

Three Cheese Souffle in Patato Skin served next  was again great in texture and flavors .I enjoyed the Combination of Goat, Parmesan and Emmental cheese.

 

Goat Cheese tikki served next was ok as the tamrind chutney was overpowering all other flavors and was too sour for my palate.

 

IMG_0184

 

WE also tried Achari Dal  Parfait -a achar masala infused  Bengal dal served with Kulcha Croute.I also enjoyed Burrata Makhani Servved with tandoori aloo.

By now moi was more than full and Signaled for Dessert but the waiter got me Seven Grain Khichri With paneer dumplings.

, guys this khichri just appeared to be some exotic dish the way it was plated and had great texture.

IMG_0198

Finally desserts were served namely Classic Crème Brulee and Shahi Mallai Fuille Tukda, Thandai chantilley creame and boy! Whatta presentation absolutely beautiful and it tasted divine as the playing around with colors flavors and texture really worked for me.So was glad that dinner closed with a bang.

 

 

This is the place with everything PERFECT. All of it: from conception, to execution, and plating. WOW! I’m still thinking about them.

 

 

 

 

Where: Ansal Plaza, Khel Gaon, Delhi

Cost For Two: INR 2000/-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

